Selection Panel

Our selection panel includes some of Australia's most respected business, education and philanthropic leaders.

2018 Selection Panel
Rosie Williams
Rosie Williams is a passionate philanthropist and, together with her husband John Grill AO, is one of Schools Plus’ Pioneers in Philanthropy who are supporting the Teaching Awards. Rosie trained as a nurse before embarking on a high-profile career in the fashion industry. She completed a Bachelor of Arts with Distinction in Philosophy and Psychology at UNSW in 2015.
Ian Narev
Ian Narev is Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia and a former partner of McKinsey & Company. He is a director of the Business Council of Australia, the Institute of International Finance and the International Monetary Conference. His not-for-profit roles include Chairman of the Springboard Trust, which helps school principals in New Zealand, Chairman of the Sydney Theatre Company, co-chair of the Advisory Committee of the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, and ambassador for the Australian Indigenous Education Foundation.
Andrew Jones
Andrew Jones is a Board Member of Australian Schools Plus, the Principal of Broadmeadows Valley Primary School (currently on secondment) and Research Fellow at the Melbourne Graduate School of Education. He has worked in Victorian schools as a teacher and a school leader for more than 20 years, leading the closure and regeneration of several schools in the northern suburbs of Melbourne. Andrew is currently conducting research into teacher professional learning with Professor John Hattie through the Science of Learning Research Centre at the University of Melbourne.
Anthony Mackay AM
Anthony Mackay is CEO of the Centre for Strategic Education. He is Chair of the Australian Council for Educational Research, Deputy Chancellor Swinburne University, Chair of the International Advisory Board for the National Institute for School Leadership, Washington DC, and Deputy Chair of New Zealand’s Education Council. He is an expert consultant to OECD and UNESCO, advisor to Asia Society’s Global Cities Education Network, a Director of the Foundation for Young Australians and Teach for Australia and Senior Fellow, Melbourne Graduate School of Education Tony was the Inaugural Chair of the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership and the Inaugural Deputy Chair of the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority.
Lisa Paul AO PSM
Lisa Paul is a Board member of Navitas, Advanced Personnel Management (APM) and the Programmed Group. Her not-for-profit directorships include Australian Schools Plus, Social Ventures Australia, High Resolves, Australian Research Alliance for Children and Youth, and the Australian American Education Leadership Foundation. Lisa was the former Secretary of the federal Department of Education and Training from 2004 to 2016. She is an Enterprise Professor at Melbourne University and a Councillor of Bond University. Lisa is also a member of the Commonwealth Government Naval Shipbuilding Advisory Board.
Lisa Rodgers
Lisa Rodgers is Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL). Lisa was formerly the Deputy Secretary, Early Learning and Student Achievement in the New Zealand Ministry of Education, with responsibility for raising achievement and improving system effectiveness with school leaders across education and the wider social sector. Lisa held several different posts at the NZ Ministry of Education, including as the Deputy Secretary Evidence, Data and Knowledge and has a strong public sector background in strategic policy, research, insight, and analysis with the Ministry of Justice, the University of Wales, and the British Army.
A representative of our Teaching Fellow Alumni
Belinda Wall, one of the 2017 Teaching Fellows and Principal of Woonona High School.