2018 Teaching Fellows

Congratulations to our 2018 Commonwealth Bank Teaching Fellows.

Ann Caro
Lithgow High School (NSW)
Ann Caro, Lithgow High School's first female Principal, transformed a culture of low expectations for children from disadvantaged backgrounds to one of hope and aspiration.
Greg McMahon
Doveton College (VIC)
Principal Greg McMahon overhauled the teaching approach of Melbourne's Doveton College, tailoring it to better suit the needs of the local community and expanding the curriculum to accommodate adult learning.
Paul Kenna
Belle Vue Park Primary School (VIC)
With many students disadvantaged and from non-English speaking backgrounds, Principal Paul Kenna created a 'Community Hub', hosting playgroups and maternal child health services.
John Cleary
Casuarina Street Primary School (NT)
Principal of a Katherine school, John Cleary, employs a "relationships first" philosophy, and knows at least five things about each of his 405 students.
John Goh
Merrylands East Public School (NSW)
Starting the school day earlier so kids are not so tired and getting rid of the bell are some of the measures John Goh has introduced at Merrylands East Public.
Yasodai Selvakumaran
Rooty Hill High School (NSW)
Yasodai has been recognised as an under-35 'rising star' of Australian education for her commitment to students and a leader of other teachers.
Stacey Quince
Campbelltown Performing Arts High School (NSW)
Stacey Quince has transformed the school in her six years as Principal, putting into action her passionate belief in the need to re-examine education.
Steve Harrison
Huonville High School (TAS)
Steve developed Huonville High's Year 11 and 12 program, with the determination to ensure it would lead to jobs for students living in an area suffering from high youth unemployment.
Peter Gurrier-Jones
The Hills School (NSW)
Principal Peter Gurrier-Jones has led the development of many innovative programs for students with developmental disabilities and complex learning needs.
Matthew Eyles
Hobart College
Matthew Eyle's background as a registered nurse has brought unorthodox solutions to common problems, such as how to involve disengaged students.
Janeen Silcock
Ballina Coast High School (NSW)
Faced with amalgamating two different secondary schools, Principal Janeen Silcock aimed to create an innovative learning place based around students and learning, rather than buildings.
Kerry White
Holy Family Catholic School (SA)
Principal Kerry White realised students were being caught up in a cycle of low expectations, based on incorrect assumptions about the local area. Kerry shifted this mindset to one of believing they were highly capable of learning.
Applications for the 2019 Teaching Awards will open later this year.
About the Awards
Great teachers help children reach their full potential. The Commonwealth Bank and Schools Plus are presenting the Commonwealth Bank Teaching Awards to help showcase Australia’s great teachers, celebrate their achievements and show appreciation for the important work they do.
Why should I apply?
If you are one of our 12 Award recipients, you’ll receive a 12-month fellowship that includes $10,000 for professional development and an overseas observation visit valued at $5,000. Plus, your school will receive $30,000 to fund a high-impact project.
Who can apply?
The Awards are open to all registered teachers and school leaders currently working in any Australian school. This year, applications for teaching achievements in socially diverse communities are especially encouraged.
Why should I nominate someone?
Great teachers and school leaders deserve recognition. Nominating someone is a great way to show your appreciation for their teaching achievements, but doesn’t oblige them to apply.